Chakras Meaning: Here’s What It Means and How To Use It

Knowing what a chakra is can deepen your understanding of world religion. Here is everything you need to know about chakras’s meaning!

Your writing, at its best

Compose bold, clear, mistake-free, writing with Grammarly's AI-powered writing assistant

An essential aspect of well-being and personal power is taking care of and understanding your physical body. Everyone’s body, mind, and soul are directly connected, so taking care of one can help benefit your life force and flow of energy as a whole. When it comes to incorporating wellness into your daily life, it’s critical to understand how you can help to improve your self-esteem by healing the energy centers in your body. That’s where the concept of chakras comes in. 

Chakras are areas of focus used within meditation and healing processes, from beginners to experienced religious masters. This system was founded in Hinduism and many other eastern religions. Still, the concepts of chakras have been incorporated into many schools of thought. Chakras are an excellent way for people to learn how to practically align their mind and body to achieve higher consciousness and self-worth. 

Here is everything you need to know about chakras and how you can use their concepts to increase your mental health and levels of peace! 

Where Do Chakras Come From? 

The concept of chakras originates from the belief systems found within Hinduism and other Tibetan and Indian religions. Most early Sanskrit texts reference them as a way to visualize one’s body in an attempt to promote meditation and peace. The chakra system is deeply intertwined with many forms of yoga poses, affirmations, and self-expression, increasing internal alignment and health in the body.

Chakras are commonly seen in similar contexts to psychological and spiritual practices, including astrology, tarot, gemstones, and alchemy. Since many of these methods are based on spiritual beliefs, many reject the concepts. However, even if one doesn’t essentially believe in the more spiritual connotations of chakra meditation, some elements can stil be incorporated into one’s life. 

What are the Seven Chakras? 

There are seven chakras that most people can agree upon in the chakra system. They all work together to align the body and soul to promote well-being most healthily. These are the seven chakras and what they mean:

Crown Chakra

This first chakra is found on the crown of your head near the pituitary gland. It is also known as the Sahasrara. Many people associate this with self-realization and pure consciousness. 

Third Eye Chakra

This chakra is just below the top of the head and is most commonly found between the eyebrows. It is known as the Ajna or Agya chakra. It is where most people get their visualization from and also one that is deeply integrated into the more esoteric aspects of the chakra system. 

Throat Chakra

This third chakra, also known as Vishuddha, is located near the thyroid gland in the throat. It is deeply connected with a person’s element of space and deeply intertwined with a person’s ability to achieve enjoyment. 

Heart Chakra

This chakra is known as the Anahata and is located in the heart. In the context of spiritualism, it is most deeply connected with a person’s essential essence. It is one of the most personal and dynamic of the chakras. 

Solar Plexus Chakra

This fifth chakra, also known as Manipura, is found around the navel and lower abdomen of the human body. It is primarily oriented around self-discovery and correlates with a person’s ability to understand themselves and their own needs. 

Sacral Chakra

This chakra is commonly known as Svadhisthana and is found at the root of a person’s sexual organs. It is one of the primary lower chakras and relates to procreation, creation, and internal establishment. It’s an excellent tool for experiencing an awakening in oneself. 

Root Chakra

This final chakra is commonly referred to as Muladhara and is located on the base of the spine. It relates to many different parts of the body and serves as the foundation for many aspects of the chakra system. This chakra can help you feel grounded, but you may feel untethered when it is unbalanced.

How Can Chakras Be Used in the Modern World? 

Generally speaking, spirituality is an excellent tool for healing and personal development. If you are suffering from a lack of mental health and are looking for a change in your life, investing time in discovering chakras may be helpful. 

If you aren’t interested in the esoteric aspects of the chakra system, you can still find healing in how it separates areas that you can work on. If you are struggling, it can often be beneficial to take a step back and look at these particular areas. This allows you to better identify the problem areas and then assess them in unique ways that will serve you better throughout your life. 


One of the most significant contributors to an overall lack of well-being is an inability to communicate. If you’re looking to change that in your life, one of the best things you can do is invest time learning how to use language to your advantage! 

Here at The Word Counter, we’re here to help people learn more about how to increase their communication skills and understand language as a whole more practically and effectively. 

If you want to learn more about how to get better with that, check out our blog on our website for more resources on increasing your knowledge of language in general! 


  1. Chakra Definition & Meaning |
  2. Chakra | Cambridge English Dictionary
  3. Chakra definition and meaning | Collins English Dictionary