Zodiac Signs Meaning: Here’s What It Means and How to Use It

Do you know what the phrase “zodiac signs” means? Read here for a complete guide to zodiac signs so you never have to wonder again.

Your writing, at its best

Compose bold, clear, mistake-free, writing with Grammarly's AI-powered writing assistant

Have you ever wondered what zodiac signs mean? Have you ever wanted a little more insight into your life? Maybe you have never heard of zodiac signs and want to learn a bit more about them. 

If any of that sounds like you, you’ve come to the right place. Today we’re going to give a brief, general overview of the definition of the phrase “zodiac signs,” the meanings of specific star signs, and more. Now, let’s get started!

What Is the Definition of Zodiac Signs?

It’s more than likely that you’ve heard somebody say the phrase “zodiac signs” before. Maybe somebody has tried to guess yours, maybe you’ve seen your horoscope somewhere, or maybe you’ve been to a fortune-teller who used astrological signs.

Regardless, let’s start off by defining our terms. Here’s a definition of zodiac signs: 

  • A group of 12 symbols that represent different parts of the year, based on the Chinese zodiac

The term “zodiac” refers to an imaginary band in the sky that is centered on a particular line. The band encompasses all the paths of the planets and contains 13 different constellations. 

In western astrology, we only use 12 constellations. The zodiac is broken up into 12 sections based on when the sun passes through these constellations in the sky, breaking the year up into approximately 30-day periods, beginning on March 21st. These zodiac constellations make up the signs of the zodiac.

Depending on where your birthday falls in the birth chart, you are assigned a different star sign. In astrology, your birth sign can predict certain personality traits about you. People use zodiac sign dates to learn more about themselves, determine their compatibility with someone, or even predict a person’s future. 

A Western Alteration

As mentioned above, there are actually 13 different zodiac constellations but only 12 astrological signs in western astrology. As astrology made its way into western culture, the signs shifted slightly. 

Astrologists wanted more consistent time periods for each sign, and they wanted signs to line up with the seasons and solstices every year. They omitted the Ophiuchus sign and aligned the signs with time periods of around 30 days. 

This made the astrological year consistent and much easier to use. However, this does create some confusion, as the sun doesn’t actually pass through the constellations during the dates listed.

What Are the Different Zodiac Signs? 

Let’s take a brief look at each of the 12 zodiac signs so you can figure out your own sign and some traits about each one. 


Aries is the first sign in the zodiac, and the first of the fire signs. Its dates are March 21 to April 19. The star sign for the Aries is a ram. 

Aries are known to be headstrong, fiery, and courageous. They tend to be fearless and outgoing but also have a bit of a temper. They’re enthusiastic and enjoy starting things, but can have a hard time following through if they don’t enjoy it. 

The celestial body that governs Aries is Mars, making them extra fiery and competitive. 


The next sign is Taurus. It lasts from April 20 to May 20, and it is an Earth sign. Their star sign is the Bull, and they are governed by Venus. 

Tauruses are known for being down to earth and great to be around. They know how to relax, are pretty calm people, and love to have fun. They’re loyal to those they love, they’re quite affectionate, and they are a quality friend when you need one


The sun passes through the Gemini from May 21 to June 20. Gemini is one of the mutable signs, meaning it falls at the end of a season. Gemini is an Air sign, their symbol is the Twins, and they’re governed by Mercury. 

Geminis are impulsive and clever. They are very sociable and love to have fun but can be serious when the time is right. They’re curious and energetic. Because they’re a mutable sign, they’re flexible and like to gather all information before making a decision. 


The Cancer sign falls from June 21 to July 22. They are the first of the water signs, and they are governed by the Moon. Their symbol is the Crab. They’re a cardinal sign, making them driven and bold

Cancers are sweet and sensitive. They have a motherly quality about them in how they care for those they love. They may not communicate their own emotional needs, but they’re great listeners and will protect you at all costs.


The sun passes through Leo from July 23 to August 22. They’re a fire sign, and their symbol is the Lion. They’re governed by the Sun sign, and they’re a fixed sign, meaning they fall in the middle of the season.

Leos love to laugh. They’re optimistic and passionate, and they love the spotlight. They are great leaders but can sometimes hide their aggressive nature with benevolence. 


The sixth sign is Virgo, spanning from August 22 to September 21. This Earth sign is governed by the planet mercury, and its symbol is the Maiden. They’re a mutable sign, as they’re born at the end of summer. 

Virgos are ambitious and practical. They love critical thinking and are organized and methodical. They’re logical and are kind of perfectionists, but they’re also charming and quite intelligent.


The Libra sign lasts from September 23 to October 22. It is one of the air signs, its symbol is the Scales, it is ruled by Venus, and it’s a cardinal sign. 

Libras value balance more than anything. They’re pleasant and easy to get along with, and they always know how to make you feel better. 


Scorpios are born between October 23 and November 21. Their symbol is the scorpion, they’re one of the water signs, and they’re governed by both Pluto and Mars.

Scorpios are passionate, but also private and secretive. They’re deeply creative, driven, and committed. 


The sun passes through Sagittarius from November 22 to December 21. They’re a mutable sign, they’re a fire sign, their symbol is the Archer, and they’re ruled by Jupiter. 

These people tend to be individualistic, insightful, and full of life. They love their freedom, they love to travel, and they love life. They’re philosophical and have strong opinions.


Capricorn begins the winter season from December 22 through January 19. They’re a cardinal sign, their symbol is the Sea-Goat, they’re an Earth sign, and they’re governed by Saturn. 

Capricorns are responsible but also a bit stubborn. They go far in their careers and make for good leaders because of their structured natures.


The eleventh sign is Aquarius, spanning from January 20 through February 18. They’re a fixed sign, their symbol is the Water-Bearer, they’re an Air sign, and they’re ruled by Uranus. 

Aquariuses are known for being humanitarians. They’re quite unique and rebellious. They’re creative visionaries and are always original. They deeply desire to make an impact on the world. 


The final sign is Pisces, spanning from February 19 to March 20. They’re a water sign, their symbol is the Fish, they’re a mutable sign, and they’re ruled by Neptune. 

Pisces have a love for the spiritual and are typically empaths. They tend to take on other people’s suffering, but they love routine. They are sensitive but can be indecisive.


Now, you know everything you need to know about the word zodiac signs. Next time somebody brings up star signs in conversation, you’ll know exactly how to contribute. So use this phrase in your writing, your speech, and your life. 

If you need a refresher on zodiac signs, come back to this article for the info you need.


  1. Zodiac Definition & Meaning | Dictionary.com 
  2. Astrology Zodiac Signs: Dates and Personality Traits | Ryan Hart 
  3. The Signs and Constellations of the Zodiac | Harvard University