Chakra Meaning: Here’s What It Means and How to Use It

Your writing, at its best

Compose bold, clear, mistake-free, writing with Grammarly's AI-powered writing assistant

Chakra can be quite a confusing word — not because it’s complex or difficult to understand, but because so many people mean different things when they say it. Many people use this word without truly understanding its definition and history. 

Chakra is an incredibly important word, and it holds great significance in Eastern religions and spiritual practices. So, it’s important that we understand its meaning and can use it correctly. 

Today’s word of the day is “chakra.” After this beginner’s guide to the word chakra, you’ll have a better understanding of its meaning and how to use it, and you’ll also learn a good deal about Buddhism, Hinduism, and meditation. 

What Is the Definition of Chakra?

The word chakra holds great significance in yoga and Eastern medicine. The definition of chakra helps us better understand the spiritual energy flowing through our bodies. Here’s a definition of the word:

  • The seven centers of energy on the body, a point on the body that is the embodiment of your spiritual energy

Spiritual energy is what connects the mind with the body. It is the interface by which your consciousness connects with and controls your physical body. The seven chakras are the organizational centers of this spiritual energy. 

Your spiritual energy helps you control your body with conscious movements, and it controls the unconscious functions of your body. The health of the whole chakra system will help the unity of your mind and body, and it’s thought to improve your mental and physical health. 

Chakras in Yoga

The practice of yoga in Hinduism or Buddhism is meant to encourage the stimulation and balance of your chakras. There are several types of yoga, but they each benefit from familiarity your energy centers to support your physical and spiritual health. 

Specific yoga poses are designed to stimulate specific chakras, getting your energies flowing to improve your well-being, improve energy flow, and help unblock your spiritual pathways. Affirmations are also used to further this process. 

Chakras in Medicine

One genre of medicine called integrative medicine uses chakras as the basis of how it understands the body. Integrative medicine establishes the pineal gland, not the pituitary gland, as the master gland of the human body. Practitioners believethis is the site where the spiritual and physical interface. 

Integrative medicine puts an emphasis on stress and the physiological effects it has on the body. It attempts to alleviate stress through the understanding of the chakras to support a person’s all-around wellbeing. 

What Are the Seven Chakras?

Here are some brief explanations of each of the seven major chakras to help you understand more about how chakras work.

Muladhara Chakra

The first chakra is the Muladhara Chakra, also called the Root Chakra. It is located at the base of the spine and is associated with the color red and the Earth. It is responsible for controlling your muscular and skeletal systems. 

Svadhisthana Chakra

Also called the Sacral Chakra, the Svadhisthana Chakra is located in the pubic region and is associated with water. It helps to control your sexual organs, bladder, and intestine. It also helps support your creativity and enjoyment of life 

Manipura Chakra

The third chakra is the Manipura Chakra or Solar Plexus Chakra. It’s located in the chest between the ribs, and it’s associated with the color yellow and the element fire. It controls the gastrointestinal system, the spleen, and the adrenal glands. It also is related to your intuition and immune system. 

Anahata Chakra

Next, we have the Anahata Chakra, or the Heart Chakra. It’s found in the center of your chest, right where your heart is. It has an affiliation with the color green, and it’s associated with the air element. It controls your heart, lungs, and circulatory system. It is associated with peace, love, and compassion. 

Vishuddha Chakra

The first of the upper chakras is the Vishuddha Chakra, also called the Throat Chakra. It’s located in the center of the throat. It energetically controls your throat, thyroid, parathyroid, and lymphatic system. It helps with communication and self-expression, and it also helps you spiritually connect to the higher world.  

Ajna Chakra

The Ajna Chakra (or the Third Eye Chakra) is one of the more interesting chakras. It’s located between the eyebrows and is associated with the color indigo. It’s thought to be pure spiritual energy, and it energetically controls the pituitary gland, spinal cord, eyes, nose, and ears. It controls your higher functions such as intelligence, wisdom, and insight. 

Sahasrara Chakra

Finally, the Sahasrara Chakra, or Crown Chakra, is located at the top of the head or crown of your head. It’s associated with electric violet and controls the pineal gland, brain, and nervous system. It helps with your psychic ability and intuition as well as helps you towards self realization and visualization of the higher self. 

What Are Some Example Sentences Using Chakra?

Here are some examples of the word chakra used in a sentence:

I practice chakra meditation every day, and I find that it really aligns my spirit, supports my mental health, and helps me visualize my personal power.  

I keep amethyst in my bedroom to help support my Crown Chakra and connect me to the spiritual while I sleep and dream. 

Jade and rose quartz are connected with the heart chakra, so I keep them in my house to increase the peace in my place. 

By aligning your chakras and connecting with the spiritual energy within yourself, you can find self-worth, self esteem, and a better spiritual connection with everything and everyone around you.


Now that you have a better understanding of the word chakra, feel free to use it in your conversation and writing. You might even have a better understanding of how to connect to the spiritual. If you need a refresher on the word chakra and its meaning, come back to this article for a refresher. 


The Chakra System | 3HO International 

Importance of Seven Chakras | Healthcare India 

The Scientific Basis of Integrative Medicine | PubMed Central